Mbbs in Karnataka


Karnataka is a state located in the southwest region of India. Bangaluru, the capital of Karnataka, is known as the “Silicon Valley of India” where the Kannada language is spoken, which is their official language. Karnataka is well connected to all of the major cities and states by means of Roadways, Railways, and Airways. Karnataka is home to many of the well reputed and recognized colleges and research institutions in India. As MBBS seats in Karnataka is more than 5600, which is more from any other states. It has been possible because of having more number of MBBS colleges in Karnataka, followed by Andhra Pradesh.

Karnataka Examinations Authority conducted MBBS and BDS admissions in colleges of Karnataka. Students are granted for admission if they qualify the NEET Entrance exam. NEET is a doorway to get admission in various programmes of UG medical courses in any of the Indian colleges except AIIMS and JIPMER, which conduct their entrance exams seperately. If students wish to participate for MBBS in Karnataka admission process, they have to register themselves on KEA by filling application form.

Eligibility Criteria for MBBS admission in Karnataka

  • ACADEMIC QUALIFICATION – For a student who wants to pursue MBBS, the basic eligibility criteria is that the student should have completed his/her 10+2 examinations and must have scored minimum 50% marks in Chemistry, Physics, and Biology by a recognized board.
  • AGE – In order to apply for the medical entrance test, the applicant must have attained an age of 17 years as on or before 31st December of the year of admission. As per new guidelines, the upper age limit being 25 years of age for unreserved category candidates and 30 years of age for reserved and PwD category candidates.
  • NATIONALITY– Candidates of Indian nationals, Overseas Citizens of India (OCIs), Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs), Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), and Foreign Nationals are eligible
  • The students also need to give entrance exam i.e., NEET (National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test) conducted by NTA from 2019 onwards. Students need to score minimum 50th percentile for General category, 40th percentile for SC/ST/OBC and 45th percentile for those who fall under general category but are differently abled.
  • While for states like Punjab and Maharashtra, they have barred students from other states for participating in counseling for admission in medical colleges, whereas Uttar Pradesh has no such norms of putting a restriction. Uttar Pradesh takes in students from all over India to sit for counseling. There is no domicile policy in Uttar Pradesh.

Admission Procedure for MBBS in Karnataka

The admissions to the Medical Colleges of Karnataka State will be offered through National Level Examination, which is known as NEET. The students should appear in the entrance exam and after qualifying, they can join for the counseling procedure. Then can only the students would be able to get their place in top colleges of Karnataka.

The process of counselling held in two diffeerent ways. Firstly, MCC counsel 15% of All India Quota Seats in which certain percentage of seats are reserved for SC/ST/OBC/PwD categories. During the counselling process, it’s up to candidate to fill the college’s name according to his/her preference. For 85% state quota seats, the medical authority of state will conduct the counselling process in which 15% of seats are reserved for NRI Quota and 5% for the Q Quota. For seat allotment process, it’s being compulsory for the candidates to appear in the counselling. After completing the admission procedure by submiting all required documents and tuition fees, candidates may report to the assigned colleges and start their MBBS in Karnataka colleges.

Karnataka distributed its seat in four different categories:
  • G- Government Seats
  • P- Private Seats
  • N- NRI Seats
  • Q- Other Seats